Share maps, files, and folders

Sharing is a way to give other people access to the content in your Mindjet online account. You can share to give established users access to specific content in the account, or to invite new users to join the account and access specific content.  Owners and Administrators always have access to all the content in the account, but other users see only the content they created or that has been shared with them.

The content within a project is automatically shared with all of the people invited to join the project, but you can share project content with other users, as well.

Note: Your role and your own permissions determine your ability to share content.  If sharing or setting access rights is not permitted, the command will be disabled.  (For more about the different permission levels, see Understand permissions.)

How it works

When you invite someone to a project, all the content within a project is automatically shared with them. You assign them an Access Level for the project, and that Access Level applies to all the content within the project. You can change this for individual folders, maps and files at any time.

When you share a specific file or folder with someone, you assign them an Access Level specifically for that content, which you can also change at will.

When you share with a person who is not already a user in the account, they are added to the Mindjet account as a Guest. If you are an Owner or Administrator you can also choose to add them to your account as a Member.

Each new user you share with receives an email message providing a link to the shared content.  If the user already has a Mindjet Profile, they can click the link and log in.  If they do not have a Mindjet Profile, they are prompted to create one. 

What can you share?

You can share files and folders, and you can grant either Read-only or Edit access

Who can you share with?

You can share content with:

If the person you share with does not have a Mindjet Profile, they must create one to access the content you have shared with them.

What do you want to do?

 

Share content

Share content to give other people access to it. If the people you share with are not currently users of your account, they are invited to join it.

Open the Share dialog:

  1. In Projects view or Library view, select a file or folder to share.

  2. On the ribbon, click Sharing.

Hint: You can also click the button in the People & Permissions pane.

The Share dialog appears with a list of users that you have already shared this item with. 

  1. Enter the names or email addresses of the people you want to share the current  file or folder with. If you are the account Owner or Administrator, you can choose to add new users as a Guest or Member of your account. For more information see Understand access rights.

  2. Choose a permission (you can change this for individual users in the Shared with list), then click Share. If you share a folder, the people you invite will have access to all the folder's content.

  3. The link to the shared content is shown at the bottom of the dialog. You can copy this and send it to collaborators to reference this item.

  4. Click Close.

  5. Users will see the shared content the next time they log in to Mindjet using ProjectDirector or another Mindjet app.

Top of Page

Create and send a link to content

When you want to refer to content that is stored in Mindjet online you can create a hyperlink to it on the Clipboard, and then embed it in a document or send it in an email message. The person who clicks the link must have access to the project, folder, or file in your account in order to open it. 

Hint: You can create hyperlinks  on a map to content in your Mindjet account and other destinations by using the Hyperlink command in mapping window.

To create a hyperlink that you can paste into an email or other document:

  1. Right-click the item (project, folder or file) that you want to the hyperlink to point to.

  2. In the shortcut menu, click Copy as Link.

A dialog that displays the link to the document appears. You can copy and paste this link at the location of your choice.  

The person who clicks this link must have access to the content it points to in order to view it.

Top of Page

Understand access rights

You set peoples' Access Levels when you invite them to join a project, or invite them to share a file or folder.  You can change their access in Projects view or Library view:

Access levels guidelines

Permissions (or Access Levels) govern what each user can do with the content in the account.

Your account type, your role in the account, and your own Access Level for an item determine whether you can grant or change another user's Access Level for the item.

Your account limits the number of maps you can share with Guests with Edit access. If you have already reached this quota, you can only share additional maps with Guests with Read-only access. To remedy this, you can do any of the following:

Table of access rights

This table shows the functions you can perform in an account based on your account role and your Access Level for the item.

The File or Folder Access Levels that allow each function are shown.

 

 

Mindjet Permissions by account role and Access Level

 

 

Owner / Admin

Member

Guest

Maps and files

File Access Levels that permit these functions

Open/View

 

Always

Read-only
Edit

Read-only
Edit

Edit

 

Always

Edit

Edit

Create Maps

 

Always

Always 1

n/a

Upload

 

Always

Always 1

n/a

Download

 

Always

Read-only
Edit

Read-only
Edit

Check out/Check In

 

Always

Edit

Edit

Delete

 

Always

Edit

n/a

Move / Copy

 

Always

Edit

n/a

Duplicate

 

Always

Edit

n/a

Rename

 

Always

Edit

n/a

Share/Invite users

 

Always

Read-only
Edit

n/a

Version control

 

Always

Edit

Edit

Set Access

 

Always

Edit 2

n/a

Folders / Projects

Folder / Project Access Levels that permit these functions

Open/view

 

Always

Read-only
Edit

Read-only

Create

 

Always

Always 1

n/a

Delete (folders only)

 

Always

Edit

n/a

Move (folders only)

 

Always

Edit

n/a

Rename

 

Always

Edit

n/a

Create/Rename/Delete items within a folder

 

Always

Edit

n/a

Share/Invite users

 

Always

Edit

n/a

Set Access Levels

 

Always

Edit 2

n/a

Account management

Access to account’s financial data

 

Owner

n/a

n/a

Reassign Owner, change name of account

 

Owner

n/a

n/a

Add Members

 

via Account Management or Share

via Share

n/a

Add Guests

 

via Share

via Share

n/a

Modify user’s role

 

Always

n/a

n/a

1 Members can perform these functions within folders or projects provided they have Edit access to the parent folder or project.

2 Members can set access levels for maps, files, and folders they share with other Members or Guests; Owners or Administrators always have Edit access to the entire account.

See also:

Create, edit, and manage maps

Upload, edit, and manage files

Create and manage folders

Version 9.3

script src="http://www.mindjet.com/js/onlinehelp.js" type="text/javascript">